515,098 active members
2,839 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Not good at math OR scale is all wrong
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81

    Not good at math OR scale is all wrong

    Ok so I'm not good at math. Built a fixed gantry 3 axis MDF machine. Got everything together and running. Noticed a funny thing while testing travel versus coordinates. Everything in gcode is about 1/10 actual size.

    My fix was to change the pulse per increment in Mach 3 from (calculated) 2000 to 22000 on each axis. That seemed to dial it right in. But obviously I've done something wrong along the way. Is this just another newb error? If so, what might I do to correct it?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    249
    Maybe check your controller micro step setting
    I'll get it finished sometime after I start it.....

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by robe_uk View Post
    Maybe check your controller micro step setting
    Right. That's what I thought. I have the DIP switches set at 2000. These are the Longs DM542A controllers.

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    6618
    Okay. There is some math involved. If you are using Mach 3 and have a dial indicator, you can eliminate most of the math. There is a button on one of the pages that lets you calibrate each axis. This is needed even when you do the math. There are screw errors sometimes and the math just isn't quite accurate enough.
    I have used this method to calibrate each axis on every machine I have with great results.
    Just a gloat, I have 6 working right now. That is if I include the 3D printer.

    Let us know if you need more help with it. These cnc machines are only as accurate as your calibration.
    Lee

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    249
    Quote Originally Posted by Michaelofburien View Post
    Right. That's what I thought. I have the DIP switches set at 2000. These are the Longs DM542A controllers.
    Ok, what type of drive? Screw or rack and pinion? A screw might be 10 turns per inch (roughly) which would account for the steps you are seeing, again please post more info of your setup.
    I'll get it finished sometime after I start it.....

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by LeeWay View Post
    Okay. There is some math involved. If you are using Mach 3 and have a dial indicator, you can eliminate most of the math. There is a button on one of the pages that lets you calibrate each axis. This is needed even when you do the math. There are screw errors sometimes and the math just isn't quite accurate enough.
    I have used this method to calibrate each axis on every machine I have with great results.
    Just a gloat, I have 6 working right now. That is if I include the 3D printer.

    Let us know if you need more help with it. These cnc machines are only as accurate as your calibration.
    This was going to be my next step if I didn't hear a good answer here. So I'm kind of glad to hear my assumptions are pointing me in the right direction.

    Quote Originally Posted by robe_uk View Post
    Ok, what type of drive? Screw or rack and pinion? A screw might be 10 turns per inch (roughly) which would account for the steps you are seeing, again please post more info of your setup.
    10 TPI ACME screws all 3 axis. It is highly likely that I have the DIP switches set wrong.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    690
    Some chinese drivers' dipswitches are counter-intuitive and use 1 as OFF and 0 as ON, maybe that's the problem and you have the switches inverted?
    http://www.build.cl

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    8082
    Quote Originally Posted by LeeWay View Post
    Okay. There is some math involved. If you are using Mach 3 and have a dial indicator, you can eliminate most of the math. There is a button on one of the pages that lets you calibrate each axis. This is needed even when you do the math. There are screw errors sometimes and the math just isn't quite accurate enough.
    I have used this method to calibrate each axis on every machine I have with great results.
    Just a gloat, I have 6 working right now. That is if I include the 3D printer.

    Let us know if you need more help with it. These cnc machines are only as accurate as your calibration.
    Leeway is correct.

    It's on the Alt-6 Tab, just above the RESET button. You can get very close using this utility, then edit the last few digits of the number manually until the actual cut measurements are as close as you need them to be. Record the x/y/z steps per unit numbers somewhere for future reference. This corrects for any tolerance build-ups in the parts, but don't rule out that there may also be some backlash involved that need to be corrected or accounted for.
    CarveOne
    http://www.carveonecncwoodcraft.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-02-2016, 09:10 PM
  2. Good small scale, complex projects
    By xander18 in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 04:16 PM
  3. Corel Draw HPGL wrong scale in KCam
    By waleed alhadidi in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 08:35 PM
  4. Scale math formula ?
    By timmydabull in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-31-2008, 05:50 AM
  5. Need to make scale tire mold for 1/6 scale car
    By thuffner3 in forum Moldmaking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-29-2008, 06:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •