585,975 active members*
5,008 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > SmoothStepper Motion Control > SmoothStepper combined with a breakout board?

SmoothStepper combined with a breakout board?

I'm relatively new to CNC machines and hope this wonderful forum can help me out. I currently have a system with a TB6550 controller (I know they are flawed, and will replace it in the future). Seeing as how we need to switch to Windows 7 x64, it wouldn't hurt to buy a SmoothStepper. My question is, can I connect the SmoothStepper to the TB6550? From my understanding, the TB6550 is a combined breakout/driver board, so isn't it redundant to have two breakout boards?

Perhaps my understanding of the function of a SmoothStepper is flawed. Any explanation would be great!

Cheers.

The SmoothStepper is NOT a breakout board. It is a "signal conditioner" and gives you the ability to NOT use a parallel port to send signals. Instead of using a parallel port, you use either USB or Ethernet out of the computer, to the SmoothStepper. The output of the SmoothStepper is a parallel port, so that then connects to whatever used to connect to the computer parallel port (usually the breakout board). Since you are not using a parallel port, you can use MUCH higher communication rates and that is why you get smoother stepping (much more data). It also allows the use of computers without a parallel port (many computers in the last 5+ years don't have a parallel port any more).

So, in short, you would "traditionally" have:

Computer - Computer Parallel Port - Breakout Board (TB6550 in your case)?

Now you would have:

Computer - SmoothStepper (USB or Ethernet to computer) - Breakout Board
    CAD, CAM, Scanning, Modelling, Machining and more. http://www.mcpii.com/3dservices.html

There are also much cheaper USB controller boards that directly output opto isolated step and dir.
    No breakout boards needed.