585,604 active members*
3,421 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Do high feeds and speeds wear out a CNC milling machine?

Do high feeds and speeds wear out a CNC milling machine?

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to milling, but I've been trying to get more value out of the CNC machine in my shop. This is going to be a really basic question. Here's a quick rundown of my situation. My shop is fairly behind technologically, and I'm trying to get it up to snuff. One of the things that I'm really interested in is getting the person operating the new Mori Seiki machining center in the shop to use more aggressive feeds and speeds when appropriate. Right now he generally just runs the thing with a 50mm/min feed no matter what end mill he's using for any purpose, which I know is not the right thing to do in all situations. When I look at the power usage bar on the machine's screen during milling (or any other operation for that matter), it rarely goes above 10 or 15% except in some corners sometimes. It just seems like the machine could do a lot more.

One of the concerns that he expresses is that he's going to wear out the machine. My question is, "How valid a concern is that?" What are the factors that go into wearing out a CNC machine, and what is being "Too Aggressive" with a machine? Obviously I don't want to be breaking end mills or forcing emergency stops, but beyond that, is there going to be significant damage if I'm pushing the machine harder?

Thanks for your help!

Like anything mechanical, the harder you push it the sooner something is going to break. But, good machines like your Mori are designed to be pushed a little and still hold up. In our shop we see a lot more electrical issues as the years go by vs mechanical problems. The electronics foul up no matter how easy or hard we run them.

Quote Originally Posted by dent424 View Post
    Hi,