585,906 active members*
3,818 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Brand new workshop - Charter Oaks Automation or CNC Masters setup?

Brand new workshop - Charter Oaks Automation or CNC Masters setup?

This newbie would greatly appreciate this community's collective wisdom. I have a great carpentry workshop with plenty of space and power to spare, but want to get starting in metalworking with a vertical CNC mill. I'm looking at two manufacturers / models in particular:

Charter Oaks Automation 4-Axis Option CNC Bed Mill
    Complete 3-Axis or 4-Axis CNC Mill
    ~$13,000

CNC Masters 4-Axis Option CNC MAX Deluxe Package
    CNC MAX ? CNC Machining & Machine, Milling Machines
    ~$10,500

As a mechanical systems engineer I design engines and weapons for a living, but I'd like to get into producing them myself mostly as a hobby. Although I already have a variety of appropriate CAD software (SolidWorks 2012, AutoCAD, etc.) and plenty of experience with woodworking tools and heavy machinery, I'm starting from nil in metalworking / machining / milling. That's why the CNC Masters deluxe package is enticing: it purportedly includes everything I need to start cutting right away, whereas the Charter Oaks setup is incredibly spacious and comes well-recommended.

For reference:

1) I'm working within a $30,000 budget, though I would not like to tap all of that at all until I both need to and feel confident enough in my abilities to take that level of financial risk.

2) I've chosen these models over, for example, a Tormach PCNC 1100. I also recognize that a ROBODRILL or Haas MINIMILL would more than suit my needs (my master machinist-mate friend highly recommended all things Haas,) but I can't / don't want to plunk down $30,000-$100,000 on a wonder-all as an entrant into machining.