585,668 active members*
4,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Tree 325

Tree 325

So I just purchased my first new to me cnc mill. I got it delivered on friday but haven't been able to do anything to/with it. Its a Tree 325 Journeyman that is in fantabulous shape that I got delivered for a screaming deal. Looks to have only cut plastics and is very clean. Question becomes hooking it up. I put it into my Father in Law's shop. Issue is that they only have 240v single phase or 480v 3phase available. The machine I have is 230v 3 Phase unit and I am not sure it will be cost effective to get 230v 3 phase run into the building or whatever needs to happen. I am not an electrician so I have no clue how the building is wired. So is there an easy way to convert this machine to run on 480v? I can also drop in a 240v 1 phase line and run the machine off of a rotary phase converter or VFD (like I am doing on my manual mill at home). They also have an unused 480v to 208v transformer sitting around that I might see if it will work (its huge and weighs a lot and is rather big). If it does, will the 22 less volts cause any issues with the systems? I will look at it tomorrow and see what the specs on it are. Is there any thing else that can be done that is relatively cheap and easy to get power to this beast? Any other thoughts?

Sortafast,

If the transformer is three phase that would be your best and least expensive option. Hopefully it has several taps to adjust the voltage and it exceeds the Kva requirement of your Tree.

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Quote Originally Posted by jalessi View Post
    Sortafast,

If the transformer is three phase that would be your best and least expensive option. Hopefully it has several taps to adjust the voltage and it exceeds the Kwa requirement of your Tree.

Jeff...