585,973 active members*
4,060 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Kawasaki robot load/ unload Mazak

Hi, I am a newbie at this site and I am software programmer. I have made different application for machines, but now is different - everything is on a whole new level. Main purpose is Kawasaki fs03n Load and Unload HORIZONTAL CENTER NEXUS 5000-II... First idea was to control through PC Mazak and the Robot over RS232, but then we decided to use PLC. I am not sure if I can control Mazak trhough PLC - may be there is need of Ladder Module... How do you think - what is best configuration? I have no experience with Mazak before...
    Thank you!

Mazak is a Mitsubishi control, so start there. Normally you could just use mcodes to tell the interface to start, once done your robot will send the finish signal back and the machine will continue. It all depends on how much you want the robot to control, and how much you want the machine to control.

The big problem is although Mazak is Mitsubishi, it is a Mazak customized system, normally with standard Mitsubishi it is usually no problem to access the PLC and build extra M codes.
    IF there are any unused ones on the Mazak you MAY be able to use that in a limited fashion, especially if you just need one signal to the Robot and as UTT mentioned one input for FIN signal.
    Any customization I have tried on Mazak so far, has resulted in Mazak telling me they can only be done for a fee!!
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

I want to achieve simplest and cheapest way of doing it. I can connect Mazak machine and robot through RS232. I know a g code "printf" or something which prints to COM port but our CNC programmers do not know needed commands for return back the control from Robot to Mazak...
    Is there simple scenario for the task -