585,956 active members*
4,411 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Laser cutter reviews

Hi all.

I'm sure there are a lot of reviews (actually I've read a lot on this forum) of lasers cutters, but would like to make a compilation of new info, as well as link to good reviews, so anyone who want to purchase a laser has some clear info to start considering the options.

In my case, I have a Full Spectrum 40W Hobby Deluxe.
    I rarely used it, and it lasted not even two years.

In my opinion, there are a lot of better machines, but I can say that now that I have some knowledge, went thought a lot of issues that I didn't expected, and found that what I was worry about back then was actually not big deal at all... so then, I would not recommend FS and that is why I myself I'm checking on other companies to get a new machine instead of keep maintaining the one I have.

There are out there great and well known products from Epilog or Universal Laser, as well other EU companies as Gravograph or Trotec... but all of them are a big deal of money... so let's focus here on some mid range, not the 500$ laser you can find on Ebay, nor the 8000$ for a top small laser; something that a small shop of a hobbyist can afford.

So... Full Spectrum 40W Hobby Deluxe review:

MY SETUP
    Model: 40W CO2 Deluxe Hobby Laser
    How long I had it: about a couple of years
    Did I replaced the tube?: No, but would be more than necessary. Actually, FS recommends even to replace also the power supply for that time span which costs the same price as a new tube.
    Would you recommend it: Absolutely no

SUPPORT
    Support is contradictory.
    I never called them, but I know another user who used to phone call them, and he only got long waits but never a solution.