585,942 active members*
3,345 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Fanuc System Parameters to Macro Variables
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2

    Post Fanuc System Parameters to Macro Variables

    Greetings

    I'm working on trying to setup a customized tool lifetime macro on one of our fanuc machines.
    The unit has a very handy System Parameter, #6754, which tracks the cutting time (time operating only on G01,02,03, etc).
    I'd like to be able to use that System Parameter as a Macro variable, but I haven't seen anything where we're able to read a system parameter into a variable for the g program. Is this something that's possible to do?
    I've seen mention of setting System Parameters using G10, but thats not particularly useful here as I'd need the value.

    Thanks
    DMP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    that's a nice theory but it's not possible to read parameters into memory and use those numbers elsewhere.

    you could probably use the macro time function to store time data in a user variable.
    before cutting read the current time. read the time again at the end of the cutting, subtract the 2 numbers and you have your cutting time. then store the number in a variable (etc). store your tool life time in another variable.

    #500=#3012 (read time and store in #500)
    ...
    (cutting here)
    ...
    #501=#3012 (read time and store in #501)
    #502=#501-#500 (calculate time that has passed and store in #502)
    IF [#502 LT #510] GOTO N100 (skip alarm if expired time is not more than the pre-set tool life time in #510)
    #3000=1(TOOL LIFE EXPIRED)
    N100 (just continue on)

    you'll also need to work out exactly what the time number is. the subtraction will probably give you the time that has passed in seconds so you'll need to do some trial and see what is output.

    in reality it's a lot of work to keep track of all of the numbers of multiple tools for something that is already there. all you need is the tool life management option.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    314
    It's not absolutely impossible but it involve ladder editing. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/fanuc/...s_program.html. I'm not an expert about that but some guys here could probably help you if you wanna know more about that option.
    With the pmc Window read function you can read a parameter(sub51 function code 17), then with window write function you can write this parameter to a macro variable(sub52 function code 22)

  4. #4
    Sometimes we over think tool life. We think we need the accuracy of cut time versus cycle counts. The truth is cycle count is as accurate as cutting time, the only difference is the the preset value. Keep track of how many cycles a tool can last for the set your tool life to that number of counts. The only reason you would need real cut time is when you are running many different jobs all the time and have no consistency with cycle times.

Similar Threads

  1. 4 axis Lathe Macro Variables - Fanuc Oi-TD
    By dafrenchman in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-14-2021, 11:10 PM
  2. Do G54 macro variables work for Fanuc 0i MD ?
    By gurgen2012 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-13-2012, 03:43 AM
  3. System macro variables for tools and pots
    By Sy-Furr in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 03:21 PM
  4. System Variables Fanuc 11m
    By Molds0 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 04:00 PM
  5. system variables vs parameters
    By sinha_nsit in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 08:51 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •