585,933 active members*
3,779 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > A MECHANICAL ENGINEERING STUDENT NEW TO CNC

A MECHANICAL ENGINEERING STUDENT NEW TO CNC

Good day people, I'm a mechanical engineering student with interest in Computer Aided Design and Computer Aided Manufacture, as a result of my interest, I have been able to learn how to use Autocad, Autodesk Inventor, SolidWorks, 3ds Max and also hoping to learn more CAD Packages. But I've been lacking in the aspect of CNC Machining & CAM. I would be glad if there's anyone who can bring me up on CNC Machining from the scratch; like how to write programs for CNC and how to operate the CNC. Thanks

Welcome! I was in your shoes once. Had a ME degree and started learning CNC.

I would strongly suggest that before you learn to program, you spend some hands-on time with an engine lathe and a Bridgeport. Just grab some scrap stock and learn the general principles of metal-cutting. Basic programming is becoming easier and easier these days with all the CAD/CAM systems available, but remember that whatever system you use will only be as good as the guy entering the information.

As for learning G-Code, I recommend Peter Smid's books. They are available all over the Internet.

Operating a CNC will very depending on control and machine manufacturer. If you have access to a shop, watch an operator run through some work. Maybe observe a few setups.

Thanks Ryan