585,602 active members*
3,554 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Intial Tool Offset setup on 840D

I am completely new to Sinumerik controls. We are working on a Sinumerik 840D/MMC - 103 control from around 2002.
    **edit - Just an FYI, this is on a 3-axis vertical mill**

I have successfully wrote a working program and understand most everything, but I am missing something when it comes to the Tool Offsets and how they work with setting your work offsets. Here is an explanation of what I have done(kinda long but wanted to provide enough details to understand what I HAVE tried):

I went into Parameters->Tool Offsets and on T1 I jogged the tip of the tool down to the table of the machine and used a 3" height gauge to position against table. I hit the Determine Offset(think this was the wording of it....not currently in front of machine) softkey. Here I hit Calculate softkey and it gave me a Tool Offset of -14.1(rounded decimal points off for simplicity). I changed the Reference value to 3(to adjust for the 3" height gauge under the tool tip) and did calculate again and it gave me a -17.1 in the tool offset. Okay, so far things were making sense. The tip of the T1 tool touching the top of the machine table is "-17.1" in MCS. I checked another drill in T2 and a shell mill in T3 in the same fashion and got similar values(something like -17.15 and -17.3) so everything still makes sense.