585,698 active members*
3,423 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Spare Parts

Spare Parts

Many thanks to Paul G. for giving us a forum for Tree mills.

The two sources of Tree parts that I know of are:
    Ellison Machinery (http://www.ellisonmachinery.com/), though I believe their midwest branch (http://www.ellisonmw.com/) is the one that handles Tree parts.

3 S Incorporated (http://www.3sincorporated.com/), which is run by a bunch of ex-Tree guys who purchased the machine shop, fixtures and equipment from Tree. They stock spare parts and do spindle rebuilds. They also have prints for a number of parts and can replicate spares from scratch if needed. Their prices seem a little better than Ellison as well - Ellison wants $230 for a spindle nose ring while 3S is only charging $175.

Thanks to both of you!

Thanks to Have Blue for taking the lead on setting up this forum and to Paul G. for generously hosting it. I'm a newbie and have been digging high and low for information about my Tree 2UVR mill, so this will be a real asset to me, and others I'm sure.

Best regards,

Bob

cross polinization. more info from recent thread- haveblue.

Thanks for the link, Dan! I've been thinking of digging through the HSM and Practical Machinist forums for Tree info to dump here.

I've found that Ebay is the best place to find Tree collets - SaGe Tool (www.sagetool.com) has a really good selection in their Ebay store (http://stores.ebay.com/SaGe-Machine-Tools). They're used, but in good shape - just bought a pair of collets to help fill out my set.

I talked to the 3 s people today for some tech support. Very cool group and very willing to help out. I would recommend them if you need any sort of help.

I am a very recent owner of a 2 UVR-C - My mentor had one about ten years ago and only agreed to help me if I bought a Tree.

Jason

I'm very happy with 3S as well - ordered my collet retainer ring on Friday and had it on Monday!