584,846 active members*
3,851 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Uncategorised CAD Discussion > Complex shapes for CNC. Can this be done in polygonal meshes?
Page 1 of 2 12

Complex shapes for CNC. Can this be done in polygonal meshes?

I am getting into 3D modeling for scale models for Architecture. I am a 3D artist traditionally modeling in polygon meshes with little experience with Nurbs. I read that some cnc software accepts stl meshes. How common is this? I worked on a job recently where they could not use the mesh for CNC. I did not get a reason. I understand the meshes need to high poly counts to remove any unwanted faceting without any smoothing. Do I need to try to learn nurbs modeling or is my client not using a good CNC company?

The work I am doing is usually high concepts of organic shaped buildings. Very sculptural.

Thanks!

Working in solids is easier to deal with than working in meshes, at least that's my experience. Both can be used, it just depends a bit on what software the CNC operator/programmer has available. I would recommend learning how to work with nurbs based software anyways, as it will only build on the skills you have. Not really a down-side to that.

I don't work in STL format often and haven't for years, but I think you could also bring your meshes into Rhino and create a solid from them, which could then be exported as a nurbs file.

There are several 3D CAM packages that are inexpensive, easy to use, and deal exclusively with mesh models. MeshCAM and DeskProto are two very popular ones.

The main benefit of using solid models is that higher end CAM packages can detect features of the models, and use more efficient toolpath strategies. Most mesh CAM programs only use a rater toolpath strategy, which can take a long time to produce smooth surface with out toolmarks, as they need to make many passes with a small stepover.