585,753 active members*
3,826 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Advise on buying a Lathe

I'm new to turning and milling and looking to get setup with a lathe and a mill for hobby work.

I've been looking at the 12x36 Enco versus the Precision Matthews versus the Birmingham

The PM seems to have a few more goodies (light, coolant, foot brake). Since I know pretty much nothing about choosing a machine and I'm going crosseyed from reading thread after thread about Asian machines vs. used US machines...I just don't know enough about them to make an informed decision. I started out wanting a 9x20 lathe but figured, why settle there when you can have a bigger lathe, and more features for not much more money (although as I keep justifying increase expenditure I'm getting further and further away from that idea). I don't really want to mess with buying a used machine because I'm concerned about inheriting someone elses problems and I wouldn't know what to look for anyways. (I pretty much have the same questions about Sq.column mills, but I'll save that for another post)

Any advise is appreciated.

Jay

THE PEICE OF ADVISE IS GET WHAT YOU NEED NOT WHAT YOU WANT ALSO THE IS A TON OF GOOD USED MACHINE HERE IS JUST ONE LINK YOU COULD FIND BEST OF LUCK

http://www.machinetools.com/MT/machines/index.tmpl

You won't regret going bigger. Of the three you list, the Mathews looks like the one I would choose. From what I remember from looking at these kinds of lathes a long time ago, this style with the enclosed gearbox looked superior. I would ask if it is made in China or Taiwan. I have had a Taiwanese mill before and it was actually quite well made and definitely superior to Chinese versions. One thing I do know is that a lot of the Asian 3 jaw chucks are junk and you may need to buy a decent one (bison etc). The 4 jaw chucks are usually OK.