585,753 active members*
3,776 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > Moldmaking > Curious about moldmaking
Page 1 of 2 12

Curious about moldmaking

I am a novice in machining so please dont laugh at my questions.

I want to make a simple mold out of mild steel for a hollow plastic cylinder used as a spacer for mounting PCBs. Size 3/8inch dia, length 1.5inch hole 5/32inch. The injection molding will be done with a hand molding machine. The surface quality of the product is not an issue and nor is the production speed. The mold will only be used to make a few hundred pieces in all.

The only machine at disposal is a Taig CNC micromill. I dont have any lathe mahine which might seem necessary for this but I think the job might be done using only the mill.

Questions:
    Can I use aluminum or brass to make this mold.
    Which software should I use to design the mold.
    Are ther any simple reference design files for moulds avaialable on the internet or can anyone share one.
    Are there any videos avaialable that show machining being done on a mill.

thanks for any help. rgds. NeoMiller

I'm going to be making me a home built injection molding machine to do small plastic parts. Make your mold out of aluminum. It will be much easier to machine and will be fine for 100 or so shots.

Don't know about you last three question.
    Thanks

Jeff Davis (HomeCNC)
    http://www.homecnc.info

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Originally posted by HomeCNC
    I'm going to be making me a home built injection molding machine to do small plastic parts.
    that sounds interesting, do you have any plans already or any websites with examples of home made machines?

NeoMiller:
    For the a short course on home mold making, check out "Of Runners, Gates and Cold well plugs:" at

http://www.seattlerobotics.org/encod..._art/molds.htm

robotic regards,

Tom