584,866 active members*
4,982 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > MadCAM > Pretend 4 Axis Cutting (LinuxCNC using indexed 4 axis to cheat not having G93)

Pretend 4 Axis Cutting (LinuxCNC using indexed 4 axis to cheat not having G93)

[REDACTED]

OK, I finally got this silly thing to work. The results are pretty good considering I'm a complete noob at this stuff!

The idea was to use 4 axis index milling to machine 360 degrees around the model. Since madCAM doesn't support G93 "Inverse Timing" I can't cut using 4 axis continuous milling at this time but I wanted to try anyways. I figured that instead I could do the milling as index cuts and go back and fix the A axis speed by hand.

Well, it worked! I used planes to bisect the model allowing me to do 4 cuts, each 90 degrees of each other and ended up with a full 360 result. I could never get the cutting planes to work using the index mode. They seemed to work just fine in 3 axis mode. Any insight here as to why this didn't work would be great. Using planes to stop the machining was hard to do right.

Does anyone else have any cool ideas on how to do this in an easier way?

Thanks for any advice and insight!

snz

I too also use surface plane to stop the tool paths , you could try making 2 planes 90 degrees to each other and then joined together through the center of x and also make a drive surface that covers the top area of this wedge shape then just rotate the drive surface and the stop plane for each tool pathing.

Have you tried to do a continuous rotary to see if it works? Mine works fine with a controller that needs g93 . Now granted I am cutting wax for jewelry which has a very wide range of chip loading and still keeping a good surface finish. Also you can do all your cutting back and forth in x and that will lessen the effect of not having g93 to keep the feed rate at the set value.

P.s. I did email joakim to ask for g93