585,667 active members*
3,991 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > New to the forum and cnc,HELP PLEASE!!

New to the forum and cnc,HELP PLEASE!!

Hi Guys,
    New to the forum(and cnc machining/programming) and so far it looks good.
    Do any of you guys have any tips,advice and good tutorial references(in laymans terms)regarding high speed milling machines and software for the purpose of 3d and 2d dies for the printing industry?
    Thank you in advance :cheers:

just go on line and look there is a lot of info for you

I've been programing by hand for the most part for three or four years and I love it .I learn something new everyday and think I picked it up pretty fast but I did manual work for about ten years.I think that realy helps when getting into cnc.I don't no how much exprience you have but my advice is read everything you can about machining also welcome to cnc.Let the fun begin.

thanks guys,
    To fill you in on my situation,
    I am a hand engraver by trade and the company i work for is going cnc and have asked me to be a part of it.
    I am not an engineer and have never operated a machine and i am relativly new to computers!!!!
    So it all seems a bit daunting
    The other problem is that to get information on cnc from competitors is like getting blood from a stone and i am glad that i came across this great site, so please be patient if i ask some stupid questions from time to time!!
    What i do know is that it looks very likely that we will be using Artcam for our 3d programming although regarding 2d work for fluted and flat dies we are undecided??Machine wise i know that we need high speed milling machines and Bridgeport and Cinncinatti are names that crop up frequently.The dies we produce are for the printing industry, ie,multi-level embossing and flat and fluted dies cut in brass.
    Again any info would be greatly appreciated.
    :cheers: