585,759 active members*
4,058 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Stepper choice

I am building a small CNC router/engraver for plexy and maybe wood.
    For the router I will use a small Dremel-style tool that weights 0,67
    kg. Now I have problem with motor choice. I will probably buy this
    motor: CNC Nema17 Stepper Motor 2 Phase DC3 4V 1 7A 48 oz in 4 Lead 1 8 Degree 220 G Cm | eBay
    but want to be sure that it is strong enough for what I need. My
    second choice is this:
    Nema17 42BYGH0425 Hybrid Stepping Motor 4 8kg cm 1 8DEGRE 2 5A 48mm 2 Phase | eBay.
    I am not sure will first one be strong enough for what I need because
    I am new in all this so would like to hear yours advice.

Without knowing more information, it's very hard to say, but Nema 17 motors are generally too small for any size router.

What method will you be using for linear motion? What size will the machine be?
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

For linear motion I will be using stainless steel rods (etc. from printer) and linear sliders from eBay. Size of CNC will be cca. 50x50 cm (workable area). For more info about motors please go to eBay links that I provided snd there it is.