585,753 active members*
4,597 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Daewoo/Doosan > Doosan Puma - to stop or not to stop? (spindle during toolchange)

Doosan Puma - to stop or not to stop? (spindle during toolchange)

Hello

I have been using a Puma 2100 for 6 months now and I started to wonder if it would be advisable to keep the spindle turning during tool change?

What is the common practice?

PS! We had spindle bearing failure after 10 000 parts!

Normally you would always keep the spindle running on a lathe. The starting and stopping is the toughest on the motor and drive unit, not to mention your power bill.

We always keep it running.
    Machining time on our 2600LM Drastically increases when we turn it off.(Like on all the other lathe's)
    Yeah, like 10 000 parts says anything, 10 000 parts that take an hour to machine, and if you had one or two collisions, yeah you bet it's gonna go.
    Would be the same on a Okuma.

Ok, generally, in Applications, we recommend NOT stopping the main spindle or subspindle for tool changes. This is for several reasons -
    A) Cycle times will increase by at least 20% as the machine will now have to wait for the spindle (s) to get up to speed, even with a fast acc/dec like the Puma, it's still adding precious seconds to your part times when you should be decreasing them. Same for things like coolant pumps as many times the machine will "wait" for confirmation that a particular function is operating before continuing on.
    B) The start/stop on the spindle is placing a great deal of stress on the motor (s), Drive (s), belts and bearings. Watch your motor load meter when the spindle starts/stops and you'll see it peak at VERY high levels as the motor tries to crank the spindle to the correct speed. However, once running, you'll see that motor loads stay fairly steady and even paced, all the way through the speed range.