585,766 active members*
4,027 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Milltronics vm 17

Looking at buying a 1998 milltronics vm 17 with 45x 16y 20z work envelope 10 hp spindle with 20 tool atc. Looks to be in decent condition however I am new to the Cnc machining and looks can be deceiving. Is there anything I should keep an eye out for on this machine? What is a fair price? It is up and running now haven't seen it cut but runs threw the motions. Thanks ahead of time.

Is the 45x 16y table size or travel? I’m thinking it’s the table size with travels of 30x 17y (travel determines working envelope). What controller does it have and what kind of lubrication system does it use? Some of the older ones used grease fittings that rarely got serviced because they were difficult to get to. Is the monitor LCD or CRT? CRT monitors were prone to failure and hard to replace but LCD were new on the market about that time. What are you going to use it for? Should be OK for most applications but these older machines are slow compared to today’s. Depending on what it was used for, I’m thinking in the low teens would be a fair price but certainly not more than 20K.

Milltronics vm 17

It is suppose to be travel I've specifically asked twice. He claims that it was an up grade option. I believe it is CRT. It will be a hobby machine possibly light production. I had a hobby machine with 50 ipm rapids so im thinking it will seem very fast to me. It has flood coolant. With automatic oiler system. How is the rigidity. My old machine I would have to add .010 or so when cutting a hole to get the size required. I will find out on the controller. It is running centurion 6 for programming.

Called milltronics they were able to pull the info up for that machine it is a 98 with 45x16x19.5 travels ac drives that are still available ridged tap centurion 6 control.