585,722 active members*
4,158 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > How did you learn the Machinist trade?

View Poll Results: How did you learn the Machinist trade?

Voters
800. You may not vote on this poll
  • On the job training

189 23.63%
  • From a family member

45 5.63%
  • Apprenticeship program

133 16.63%
  • Vocational Tech School

167 20.88%
  • Self taught

251 31.38%
  • Military training

15 1.88%
Page 1 of 10 123

Hybrid View

Cool How did you learn the Machinist trade?

How did you learn the Machinist trade?
    www.widgitmaster.com
    It's not what you take away, it's what you are left with that counts!

CETA Training program though Mas Dep. of Employment and Training 1981 Quincy,Mass. 6 month Then on to first job as tool and cutter grinder $4.20/hour

Quote Originally Posted by lakeside View Post
    CETA Training program though Mas Dep. of Employment and Training 1981 Quincy,Mass. 6 month Then on to first job as tool and cutter grinder $4.20/hour
    Yep! That's how I did it too. 6 months at MD job training program in 94 then on to my first job. Started out on a Bridgeport and a turret lathe. One month later the boss comes out on the shop floor and hand's me a copy of a program and a tool list and tells me to setup the Moriseki MV80 (god that was a big machine) turns around and walks away. There I was, just standing there looking at the machine thinking "now what the hell do I do." With a little help from the guys in the shop I managed to get it done without crashing the damn thing.

Bounced around a few shops over the years. Some good, some not so good. Now I'm at the place I'm going to retire from. If this place ever closes they are going to have to drag me out of here kicking and screaming.