585,981 active members*
4,236 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

edgecam users

are there many edgecam users out there?
    someone told me they were the 3rd largest in world now.

i've been using it for about 4 years now and i really like it.

i haven't ran into anything i couldn't figure out yet.

i do alot of 3-d and prototype work off of customer files and the only thing i wish it did better(more types) is open files from different softwares.

it has a nice list but i want it all.

timf,
    tell us more about EdgeCAM, do you have the part modeller as well?

Klox
    *** KloX ***
    I'm lazy, I'm only "sparking" when the EDM is running....

no i don't have the part modeler, but the only design i do is for myself (fixtures and such)and i have become handy with regular edgecam enough that it does the job fine.
    sometimes i redraw the part i'm making in 3-d just to get a good feel for it before i start processing it.

the one thing that i found was alot easier compared to the old smartcam i used is 3-d machining.
    edgecam has some cool cycles for toolpath when doing 3-d contours.

the classes i took from the reseller were:
    basic mill, basic lathe, basic wire, advanced lathe,surfacing, advanced surfacing, code generator.

i mostly use the milling packages the most and only dabble in lathe and wire, i have guys in charge of those deptartments that take care of it themselves, i only took the classes as back up for them.

i didn't have a hard time switching over from smartcam which is what i used before edgecam.

is there anything you had in mind about edgecam that you would like to know.

I am an edgecam guy myself. 3yrs and counting.

I use it for lathe, mill, and edm although all relatively simple.

I have found the software to be very easy to use. It isn't a drawing program though. I use inventor for that.

Question