584,830 active members*
5,782 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Router vs. mill

Hi there,

I'm new to the world of CNCing and one thing I have been unable to figure out is, what is the difference between a CNC router and a CNC mill???

And also am I correct if I claim that a gantry is the "thing that holds the Z axis?

Tanks all

the way i understand it, a cnc router usually refers to a gantry style machine. the y and z, are moving on the x. the z moves up and down on the y, and they both move on the gantry which is driven by the x.

a cnc mill may be referred to a moving table type or a metal working mill style. like a knee mill, or a bridgport (search ebay for good pics). a sherline mini-mill could be considered a cnc-mill just on a small scale.

obviously this is what i have picked up- and i think i have the general idea of what everything is called- but there are those on this board that could probably give you the production history and all kinds of in depth knowledge of where and why the two styles diverge. so- this is all IMO

That and generally hundreds of pounds of difference with the mill being the heaviest...

A mill operates on torque, a router on RPM's.
    Milling machines are mainly for cutting metal, although they will cut other materials. RPM's for a mill are usually around 3000-5000RPM.
    Routers are generally for soft materials like wood and plastics. Routers operate at around 25000-30000RPM.
    Milling machines are typically far more rigid and massive than routers.
    colin

As others stated, routers cut wood and plastic, mills cut metal. Every other characteristic goes with the territory.

E.g. to cut a 1/2" slot in a piece of wood, you want your bit to run at ~20K RPM, vs. under 1000 RPM if cutting the same slot in steel.

Size is important as well. Plywood comes in 4' x 8' sheets, so many routers are at least that big. A small fraction of 1% of mills are that big.