585,974 active members*
4,349 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Just found out about DIY CNC machines, where to start?

Just found out about DIY CNC machines, where to start?

I am a hobbiest woodworker and just found this site, and think it is great. From what I have read so far has made want to learn all there is to know about building and using a CNC router. Are there any books or tutorials online that can get me started?
    Thanks,
    CP

Read read read the threads in this section. There a lots of persons who have built the JGRO and other machines. Joes's new project build in the cnc projects section is also good to read.

Jason

Just wanted to say welcome, and take your time and have fun, this has been a fun hobby for me and i'm trying to bring a good machine to others to start out with and learn from there. Use Mach 2/3 website for nice reading on controllor software, and use pminmo site with links and information.

http://www.machsupport.com/artsoft/index/index.htm

http://pminmo.com/

Joe

Like everyone is saying, just read, read, and then read some more. Any question that I have thought of since I've been building mine has been answered by doing a search in this forum. Good luck, and keep us informed on how things are going!

Jason

Getting started is when you go to the shops and get out your credit card!

I started building then I threw away then I started then I modified then I locked in then I thought about it then I refined then I settled down ......

I'm still doing that but I can now also look back and say I'm happy with that and that and that. I can now also say that I am on the road to completion. (still a long way to go though )

Welcome to the obsession!

Andy
    Drat, imperfection has finally stopped working!!