585,705 active members*
4,214 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Shopmaster/Shoptask > Question about Patriot VFD Machines

Question about Patriot VFD Machines

Hi,
    I was wondering if anyone could advise me about the Patriot VFD 3 in 1 machines. I am a machinist and have worked larger single type machines; lathes, mills, saws and grinders. Most of my experience has been with the Air Force in aircraft maintenance (Field Maintenance). With that I can tell you that I've got a lot of experience working with very little in the way of tooling to get big jobs done. The old joke was "We can do just about anything with almost nothing" or something like that and were I'm at now it is still that way.
    I guess my basic question is, is this a good machine for home use? How big can you go on parts machined?
    I'm getting ready to retire and I guess I'll never be able to get over the machining bug bite I have and I doubt I'll be doing much other than restoring some old cars and some gun work. Unless I go and build a shop large enough for some big machines I'll have to settle for a 3 in 1 type with the space and power I have available.
    Well, anyone out there able to help on this? Might there be another machining center out there that is better or could handle larger work? The only thing I'm worried about is the mill Z axis. It seem very limited. But I can see using the lathe part as some milling and boring operations if there is enough room to align the centers of parts and spindle.
    I've never used one of these machines nor have I seen one up close so I really do not know much about them. I knew someone that had another common brand but he told me that it was okay for small stuff and it had other limiting problems.