585,975 active members*
4,907 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DIY metal mill/lathe HOMEMADE

im starting this with my intentions to build a cnc mill and lathe for steel and cast iron machining.
    B4 i start i need a bit of guideance.
    I plan on getting married before the baby comes along this year so the materials used for the machine will be scrounged and what i can find as cheap as possible (because the wife and baby will be a real pocket burner).
    I believe this is still a very feasible project as i am a cnc machinist by trade and most parts will be cnc machined for both projects.

can anyone give me some pointers on mill/lathe bed materials, servos, etc to get the ol' cogs grinding between the ears?

have you seen the Gingery line of books, "build a ... from scrap"? Available at the lindsay books website.

I don't know about Oz, but here in the states CNC machines with dead obsolete controls can be purchased for scrap iron prices. You got to stop around all the shops and look for that machine sitting on the pallet in the back room.

Good luck on becoming a family man.

Karl

Hunt down any salvage yard or surplus centers in your area, sometimes they have bits and pieces of mills and lathes, that you can use, and also metal that you can probably get cheap.

Check with machine tool rebuilders, riggers and repair they may know of a machine collecting dust somewhere. Some other places you might look into are schools, tech schools, manufacturers, govt auctions........ Good machines are made out of cast iron.
    If it's not nailed down, it's mine.
    If I can pry it loose, it's not nailed down.