585,875 active members*
4,084 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > New machine purchase

New machine purchase

Hi All,

I’m currently employed at a job shop call ERW Inc. In Putnam CT, (the nicest shop I ever worked in). We work with a lot of different materials from plastics, aluminum, mild to harden steel, stainless steel, Inconel, Hastelloy, and C-276. We are looking to purchase a new machine and looking at the Okuma Genos M460-VE. Has anyone on here used one? I was looking to get some user feedback on the controls, quality, after sales support and functionality. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks In advance,
    Eric

I have been a machinist for 25 year and ran ever control under the sun. The Okama controls are one of the most cumbersome controls out there and if you are trying to run a probe, good luck. Depending on your territory, service is little to be desired. I would ask your rep for a customer list.

Check the machine specification if it's enough for stainless and other hard materials. We have some clients in area, who are working on 560 with stainless. 460 is really good for aluminum, plastic and so on.

Quote Originally Posted by Manuman View Post
    I have been a machinist for 25 year and ran ever control under the sun. The Okama controls are one of the most cumbersome controls out there and if you are trying to run a probe, good luck. Depending on your territory, service is little to be desired. I would ask your rep for a customer list.