585,692 active members*
4,032 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Fixture for two sided machining -- is this the right approach?

Question Fixture for two sided machining -- is this the right approach?

I have a Chinese 6040 router (with an Ethernet Smoothstepper and a G540) which I have been using successfully for plastic and Aluminium.

I am a complete newbie at this, although I'm very pleased with the results I am getting so far!

I want to do some two sided milling of 6mm aluminium, and I have some questions about making and using a suitable jig.

My plan is:

Make the fixture:

1. Use 6mm x 100mm x 100mm aluminium for the fixture plate -- this will be large enough to mount the stock I'm using.
    2. Mount the fixture plate on my t-slot bed using the rather basic clamps the machine came with.
    3. Machine two (or four?) sides of the fixture plate square with the axes of the CNC machine. (as a reference so that I can later remove and reattach the fixture)
    4. Drill holes for dowels at appropriate places for the stock size I'm planning to use.
    5. Insert dowel pins like these: Dowel Pins Hardened Ground 3mm X 10mm 10 PK Steel | eBay (steel into Aluminium -- will that be OK?)

Prepare the stock:
    6. On another part of the bed drill the same hole pattern into the stock. (my parts are always cut from the center of the stock, so I don't need to worry about its edges or absolute alignment.
    7. Slip the stock over the dowels -- hold down with clamps or double sided tape.

Machine the job:
    8. Machine the first side
    9. Flip the stock -- I'll ensure the centerline of the part is equidistant between the dowel pins.
    10. Machine the second side

Remounting the fixture: (at some point I'll remove the fixture for some reason and need to reattach it)
    Aligning:
    11. Clamp the fixture as closely aligned as I can by eye/setsquare