585,762 active members*
4,177 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Setup Notes in Program Header
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1570

    Setup Notes in Program Header

    In the V26 we now have a setup sheet that can be created the supplies detailed information about your job tools speed feeds and more! But some of you may want some of this information to be in your NC file. At the header " start of program" you have the ability to put all kinds of good information there and for may production shops, there is a lot of information that needs to be in there to run the job correctly the firs time.

    So let's take a look at some of the options, settings, and ways you can customize your posts to format the NC program they way you shop likes to see it.
    Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1570
    The first thing / area I want to talk about in program notes / comments. In current settings in your CAM tree there are 15 comment lines that are saved with your program. You can use these comment lines to "note" your program and information you want the operator to read about the nc file.

    Attachment 206130


    Code:
    2. Start of file Standard
    "(PROGRAM NAME - ",prog_name,")"
    "(POST - ",machine_make,machine_model,")"
    "(DATE - ",output_date,")"
    "(TIME - ",output_time,")"
    user_comment_1
    user_comment_2
    user_comment_3
    user_comment_4
    user_comment_5
    user_comment_6
    user_comment_7
    user_comment_8
    user_comment_9
    user_comment_10
    user_comment_11
    user_comment_12
    user_comment_13
    user_comment_14
    user_comment_15
    Above is what you post block #2 would need to look at to post the comments in your NC program.
    Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1570
    The next thing I want to look at is the tool list.

    Here is a sample post block # 0


    Code:
       default_add_spaces
       "(BEGIN PREDATOR NC HEADER)"
       "(MACH_FILE=HAAS - 3XVMILL.MCH)"
       output_tool_list
       output_stock_definition       
       "(END PREDATOR NC HEADER)"
       " ",
       "%"
       "O",prog_n
       "(PROGRAM NUMBER)"

    As you'll notice there is the output_tool_list variable. In this case we are using this block for the predator header to define tools for simulation.

    Code:
    110. Tool list format.
       "(MTOOL","T",list_tool_number,mtool_type,"D",tool_diameter,"H",tool_length,mtool_angle,mtool_corner_rad,"DIAM_OFFSET ",list_tool_number,"= ",tool_radius,")"
    Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1570
    Here is a sample nc file based that is using both the comments and the tool list setup for the predator header:

    Code:
    (BEGIN PREDATOR NC HEADER)
    (MACH_FILE=HAAS - 3XVMILL.MCH)
    (MTOOL T1 S4 D.25 H5. A118. C0. DIAM_OFFSET 1 = .125)
    (MTOOL T2 S1 D.5 H5. A0. C0. DIAM_OFFSET 2 = .25)
    (MTOOL T3 S1 D.5 H4. A0. C0. DIAM_OFFSET 3 = .25)
    (MTOOL T4 S1 D.25 H5. A0. C0. DIAM_OFFSET 4 = .125)
    (MTOOL T5 S2 D.25 H2.5 A0. C.125 DIAM_OFFSET 5 = .125)
    (MTOOL T6 S7 D.078 H5. A90. C0. DIAM_OFFSET 6 = .039)
    (SBOX X-2.95 Y-2.95 Z-1.975 L5.9 W5.9 H1.975)
    (END PREDATOR NC HEADER)
    
    %
    O100
    (PROGRAM NUMBER)
    
    (FIRST MACHINE SETUP - Machine Setup - 1)
    
    (PROGRAM NAME - WESTEC ATRUMP SAMPLE02.NC)
    (POST -  FANUC 0M)
    (DATE - MON. 10/28/2013)
    (TIME - 11:44AM)
    (MATERIAL ALUM  6  x 6 x 2  THICK  MOUNTED ON HIRSHMANN TOOLING BLOCK)
    (SET ZERO TOP CENTER OF BLOCK)
    (T5 ON OP 10 USES H15  THIS Z OFFSET IS -.008 DEEPER THEN H5)
    
    G90 G80 G40 G20 G17
    G00 G91 G28 Z0.
    G91 G28 X0. Y0.
    
    (OP1 DRILLING PEN HOLES )
    
    N0001 T01 M06
    S1500 M03
    G4 X3.
    G90 G54 X2.3 Y-2.3
    G43 H01 Z.25 M08
    G83 G98 X2.3 Y-2.3 Z-1.1549 R.1 Q.05 F7.
    X-2.3
    G80
    
    (OP 2 DRILLING CARD HOLDER CORNERS)
    Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1570
    Now for what Eric wants to do, he want the tool list to show the tool numbers, offsets, description and the LOC ( length of cut )

    He wants all of this information to be in the header, so when his operators are setting up the jobs, they can pick the shortest length tools to provide the best results.

    What he was doing was switching on /off system tool and using the tool label for this. Unfortunately that doesn't work with the work flow of the V25 and tool cribs.

    So what can we do?

    Well I looked in the post variable list and found

    tool_length

    I wanted the flute length, but didn't seem to find that option... So what I am thinking Eric can do is edit his tool list format, and add the tool_length in this block.

    Code:
    "LOC =",tool_length
    Doing so will post the LOC for each tool in the header...

    we aren't done yet, after he picks his tools, he will need to make sure to change the tool length to the total LOC for the cut. A little extra work, but when he does this,
    1 he shouldn't loose this information like he has been with his old work flow.
    2 When he posts his program the LOC will be listed for each tool in the header, which will aid his operators when the pick tools to setup for the job.

    V26 Users,

    You can follow the same work flow, or use one of the setup sheets that comes with V26
    Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1577
    This is the standard HaasVF post processor with a "Max Z Depth" script in it.

    This script will check all Z feed moves (Block 51) and compare them with all previous Z moves per tool. The "lowest" value is kept and reported before each tool change. At tool change, the Max Z Depth is reset to "0" (zero). The resulting max Z depth is printed as a comment at the end of each tool.

    This is why I say it is more difficult to get it in the Header. In order to calculate the max Z depth, it can only do it after each line has been posted. The only way to get it up near the header is an additional script to read the file after it is posted, parse the text, and insert the LOC in the desired area. Still no problem but not worth the effort IMO.

    If someone wants to work on it with me I will offer help and input. I have already solved this problem but my employer paid for it, not the Zone.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Mori Seiki ZL-253 program setup
    By MGood in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-18-2021, 08:15 AM
  2. Need help with old DOS gcode program setup
    By sanddrag in forum Techno CNC
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-24-2012, 05:10 PM
  3. CNC Mastercam X .5 program/setup/operator - MI
    By MachiningJobs in forum Employment Opportunity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2011, 10:58 PM
  4. cnc lathe program/setup
    By Stran in forum Employment Opportunity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2009, 01:20 AM
  5. How to setup and program sub-spindle on TL-25?
    By Aeon in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 01:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •