585,687 active members*
4,744 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Gecko G540 stays in fault mode
Page 1 of 2 12

Gecko G540 stays in fault mode

When I turn on my control box the fault light on my g540 lights up and stays red. When I push in my e-stop switch power is killed to the box and the light turns green for a moment then shuts down. Could this be a problem with the way my e-stop is wired or is it something in my mach3 settings that is causing the fault? My control box was purchased from cnc4PC.com. I am attaching the original diagram that the guys at cnc4pc created and a wiring diagram that I made from the original one in order for me to better understand it and are looking for any feedback to help me solve this issue. I am a newbie so I know it is something small (hopefully) that I am overlooking or I have completely wired my box incorrectly.

Attachment 207160

Attachment 207158

It sounds like your estop might be configured wrong in Mach3. Try switching it from "active high" to "active low" (or vice-versa) and see if that helps.

Andrew Werby

I tried switching it to both active high and active low and are still receiving the fault. I think I am going to bypass the e-stop and make sure it is not my gecko that has gone bad. Before I added my controller box and e-stop I had my machine running without any faults.

In that case, see if you can get some help from whomever sold you that controller box. If the Gecko was working before, it's probably still good, unless you left it on when you were changing the wiring. Of course, there might be a simple explanation, such as the e-stop button being locked in the open position (they do that; you sometimes have to twist and pull to reset them.)

Andrew Werby
    www.computersculpture.com

Have you checked the Charge pump setting in Mach 3.
    Better still turn the Charge pump switch to off just to bypass it until you have things working properly.