586,011 active members*
4,212 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > CNC Machining Centers > Shopping for CNC router to cut wood type

Shopping for CNC router to cut wood type

I have been a woodworker for several years but have mostly worked with hand tools and am new to the concept of CNC routers. Professionally I write software and am a cartographer for the US government so I am familiar to the basic concepts behind their use and function. Recently I have started entertaining the concept of using a CNC to assist my sister who is a graphic designer and is opening a letterpress business. The letterpress equipment used in my sister's business uses font cut from wood, linoleum, plastic, and metal. What is the feasibility in using a cnc to cut these plates?

I would only require a working space of 11" x 17" so large size is by no means required but I would still like to know that my abilities will not be hampered by the machine's quality. I am usually the one to take DIY to an absurd degree but with production being my first priority I would like to be able to start working rather than having to spend weeks or months building my own. I have done some research but have received mostly contradictory information and could use a good place to start. Now I'm mostly wondering which brands I should be looking for and what are some I should avoid? I have heard that servo motors are preferred to stepped motors but haven't seen any that did not use stepped motors. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

What's your budget?

Generally, small machines tend to be lower quality hobby grade machines. To get a solid, heavy duty machine, you usually need to get up to at least a 2'x4' machine, and spend upwards of $5000-$6000. Very high quality smaller machines can cost even more. I'd probably say for a small machine to look at Romaxx, but it's still a rather light duty machine.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset