545,767 active members*
1,730 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Open Source CNC Machine Designs > Is it possible to change settings in mach3 to run code faster?
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    34

    Is it possible to change settings in mach3 to run code faster?

    my feed rate is pretty high around 200 during roughing, but during finishing the feed rate slows down to around 60 70, i see that mach 3 isnt processing the lines fast enough and the finishing pass is really slow. is their a setting where you can change how much lines of gcode it can process in a second? is it subject to computer speed or kernal speed? thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35475
    Typically, it's the acceleration rate of your machine that limits velocity during 3D cutting. The faster it can accelerate, then the faster it can follow the toolpath.

    There's a lookahead setting that you might want to increase but I don't know it it will help.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5516
    Yes... I had successfully changed the LookAhead and increased my feedrates, as well as smoothed out machine movements. As Gerry eluded to, your accel settings will also affect your machine times, but you must be careful to not push things too hard with steppers. Ultimately it's a combination of CV settings and LookAhead that wil optimize your 3D speeds. I have heard of some who had details "lost" or smoothed due to CV angle settings and LookAhead, so you may want to save different Mach3 profiles depending on what youu are carving. Obviously this "smoothing" may be beneficial depending on what you are machining. I posted a thread on this particular subject a while back, as most 3D CAD will typically use many small line segments to interpolate a curve, and if your LookAhead is too low, youu'll have constant accel/decel depending on the tolerance you set on your CAM (the tighter the tolerance, generally the more line segments....)

    The best article on these settings were written by David Bloomfield. I would suggest reading through this article before making any changes.

Similar Threads

  1. HOW TO CHANGE XFORM DEFAULT SETTINGS
    By dfearnow in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2012, 05:24 PM
  2. Any G-codes that can change HAAS settings?
    By jbcourt in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-01-2011, 04:17 PM
  3. Faster servo g-code interface! version 1.421
    By Pplug in forum Techno CNC
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 09:23 PM
  4. Mach3 CV settings vs. G-100 Plugin CV settings
    By Bfarn in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-17-2008, 05:45 PM
  5. Why Do Mach2' Settings Change?
    By TheNigerian in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2006, 05:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •