585,679 active members*
5,097 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Busy Bee 10x18 lathe

Hi everyone, this is my first post; having said that, I feel like a complete newbie.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone has some information on the Craftex 10x18 lathe that Busy Bee offers here in Canada. http://busybeetools.ca/cgi-bin/pictu...&NTITEM=B2227L

Unlike the 9x20 that seems to be rebranded by almost everyone out there, I cannot seem to find a whole lot on the 10x18 Craftex. This page is probably the only source of info I could find aside from a couple of cryptic forum posts, and the Busy Bee page. http://users.eastlink.ca/~howarde/Lathe..html

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help me out.

I was looking at this one when I purchased my mill/drill from them. Not sure if I remember right but I don't think you can mount a 4 jaw chuck. I would check as it comes in very handy along with a faceplate for mounting. Even though the bore is a shade smaller on the larger one I would probably go there if you can't mount the other accesories.
    John

I have the 10x18 from busy bee and have been using it for almost 2 years. The lathe is fairly well built and quite rigid for its size. For the price it is a good deal.

That said there are a few problems I have found with it:
    Leadscrew is an odd 7TPI
    Feed screw dial on cross slide says inches but are really millimetres
    Leadscrew handle graduations are not even close, I have never actually used it.
    Motor is underpowered but that could be me, when your used to removing a 1/4" per pass at work you don't always take it easy.

When I first turned the lathe on it ran for all of 5min. then their was a nice puff of smoke from the motor. That said busy bee was good and expressed posted a new motor to me no questions asked.