584,829 active members*
4,944 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Emco F1 CNC mill school project
Page 1 of 3 123

Emco F1 CNC mill school project

For my school project I would like to retrofit Emco F1 mill with SainSmart CNC TB6560 3 Axis Stepper Motor Driver Controller(SainSmart CNC TB6560 3 Axis Stepper Motor Driver Controller Board & Cable Specializing in Arduino compatible development boards and modules, oscilloscopes and other electronics.). I am new at this so I dont know how to start. I would be very happy if somebody would helped me. The electronics from the old controller were fitted in the back of the machine and we chaged the old stepper motors with new ones (57bygh633, 3.0A).

My first problem is if the motor driver controller is compatible with the old electronic board from the Emco machine?

If it is how do I wire it with the old electronics?

Thank you for any sort of help.
    I will update my progress and soon add some pictures.

The controller you linked has built in stepper motor controllers. As such you would not use the motor drivers already on the machine. The controller you linked would hook directly to the stepper motors on the machine.

Please do post pictures, many.

I also suspect what you are really looking for is a BOB, also known as a breakout board. This board gives you access to the 25 pins of a parallel port. These pins are assigned certain responsibilities when using Mach3 or EMC. If you already have drivers in your machine, you need to be able to feed them the step and direction signals. Again pics will help.

This community will jump at the opportunity to give their opinion, get started. You might also want to post your location in your profile. Someone might live next door?