548,321 active members*
1,592 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Visual Basic > Emco Compact5 Interface (like Weledit)
Page 3 of 3 123
Results 41 to 50 of 50
  1. #41
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    I checked at a computer running Norton and MFI downloaded with no warning at all.
    I am sorry I can't help you here.
    rgds,
    Henk

  2. #42
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    260
    I just try'd this again, same as before I attached a picture of the message I got.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails MFI_warn.JPG  

  3. #43
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Hi Torsten,

    WS.Reputation.1 reporting seems to be a known issue. According to their community site (http://community.norton.com/t5/Norto...n-1/m-p/228308) Symantec is working on it, in fact they ask your help with isolating the problem.

    "UPDATE FROM SYMANTEC last edited by Tony Weiss on June 02, 2010

    Since this has become a lengthy thread, we've updated this first post to provide useful information to new forum members. While we work hard to gather info about as many files and configurations as possible, there are occasionally situations where we may encounter programs that get identified as WS.Reputation.1. We apologize for the inconvenience, and would like your help in improving the service and preventing any re-occurrence.

    In the event that a file has been wrongly identified as WS.Reputation.1, please submit it here for review. For a workaround on this issue, please follow the directions in this post. I would also recommend that you review this post for information on why some of your files may be identified as WS.Reputation.1."

  4. #44
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    260
    Thanks for the explanation C5CNC seams like Norton has some major screwups to deal with.
    I will have to wait a while until they got it fixed before I can download this.

  5. #45
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    0
    Hello Henk,

    First of all big R.E.S.P.E.C.T. for your work on the continuation of the MFI software.

    I bought my (100% original / non-retrofit) EMCO F1 CNC a few months ago and normally I run it up-/ and downloading the NC programmes from my 64-bits laptop with Windows 7 through NcLink software by means of a USB port to my (home made) RS232 interface cable, which works perfectly.

    I agree with you that the only reasonable thing is to do is to retrofit the Emco, but first of all I am not a machinist. I guess I am just one of these rare stubborn hobbyists that like the machine just as it is. High quality hardware, very basic firmware and charming 80's electronics. My little EMCO F1 CNC also made me pick up again CNC machining and back-to-basic NC programming.

    A few days back I have downloaded, installed & tested MFI and it works & looks really nice. Yesterday evening I tried to upload a test NC programme to my EMCO but failed, because it seems that I cannot change the settings in MFI from COM1 to COM3 (which has been assigned from the USB interface installation).

    Can you help me out?

    Many thanks in advance & best regards,
    Richard Engbersen

  6. #46
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    113
    In the windows device manager can't you just change the com port number to com1?

  7. #47
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Hi Richard,

    Didn't notice your message until now...


    When starting up, MFI tries to open COM ports 1 to 8. Only the COM ports that don't return an error code will be listed in the settings menu. Other ports won't be visible. So in your case for some reason COM3 produces an error.

    How about MC-LINK? You can download it from mikesfreeinterface.com also.

    Also, there are tools around that will show your available COM ports. Does COM3 show up there?

    For testing purposes is it possible for you to assign COM1 to the USB-RS232 converter?


    Kind regards,
    Henk

  8. #48

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    1

    Re: Emco Compact5 Interface (like Weledit)

    Hello all,

    I have recently got my hands on a EMCO Compact 5 CNC Lathe. This software tool seems to be great and would come in pretty handy. Sadly the homepage is down. Is it somehow possible to download the tool elsewhere?

    Best regards,
    Mario

  9. #49
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    63

    Re: Emco Compact5 Interface (like Weledit)

    Guys I know this is a zombie thread but I could really use this software too!

  10. #50
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: Emco Compact5 Interface (like Weledit)

    I still have the original installation software somewhere. How can I get that to you?
    If you send your data I will send you the ZIP file.

    I am a teacher and have used it for several years, both for sending and also for programming the EMCO. I also programmed a part at the time before Henk turned it into a new interface.

    Regards, MANISO

Page 3 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. emco compact5 cnc
    By edkaar in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 02:58 AM
  2. Interface cards for Emco Mills & Lathes
    By kcarey in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 03:01 AM
  3. Need help on EMCO Compact5 CNC RS 232 cable
    By c_aguit in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 07:30 AM
  4. Interface cards for Emco Mills & Lathes
    By kcarey in forum DeskCNC Controller Board
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 06:41 PM
  5. EMCO Compact5 CNC help needed.
    By ESjaavik in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-15-2005, 07:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •