585,917 active members*
3,554 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > CamBam > Help creating tool paths in cambam to cut a sloped pocket

Help creating tool paths in cambam to cut a sloped pocket

Hello All,

I am new to the CNC world and built my first Shapeoko CNC. I am trying to machine a pocket with a slope to it. The wood is 3/4" thick and the slope of the pocket would be from the surface down at the deepest end to .5625" leaving 3/16" of wood at its deepest point.

I have attached a screen shot from my rendering in sketchup

Any ideas would be very much appreciated.

Thank you for your help...

Regards,

John

I have the latest version of CamBam, that is the only one i have at this time.

The through pocket can be done with a pocket mop(machining operaton). I would leave some stock then do a profile with leadin and out to finish. The slope pocket will be done with a 3d toolpath. I sugest a waterline process with a flat or square end router bit. Then a finish pass with a ballnose router bit if you can live with a radius in the corner, using a horizontal or vertical 3d process. and do the through pocket First load the 2d drawing in cambam and do the through pocket. Then open Cambam again and rename and load the model for the 3d process on the sloped pocket. You can post the .cb fileshere and someone should be able to help. Note the 2d file will be loaded in cambam as .dxf file and the 3d file will load as a .stl file. They both are saved from cambam as a .cb file.

Wow, thank you very much coolant slinger for your detailed response. I will work on setting up those operations and post the .cb files here for review.

Regards

John