585,676 active members*
6,070 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    21

    cnc milling a worm shaft

    Hi guys im new to this hobby but need to mill a worm shaft the worm itself using ball end mill 10mm the worm is a two float it has 2 start points diameter is 76mm and the pitch is 27mm can anyone help me with G codes or how can i make one im still trying to wrap around G codes an cam but time is really not enough please anyone did this beforeAttachment 214804Attachment 214806Attachment 214808Attachment 214810

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    195
    Are you running 4th axis ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    21
    Tony yes i am running a 4th axis with mach 3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    195
    so you want to try something like this . I am not used to metric feed so you will have to all "F" values so replace # with what you want to run at . you're not giving the length. you should be able to mod this code to do what you need . the start of the second thread would be 180 and then the end would be how many turns times 360 plus the 180 . hope that helped

    g21 g90
    m6 t1
    h1 ( tool offset if your using it )
    m3
    g1 z 50. f# ( move to above the part )
    g1 x0.0 y0.0 a0.0 f# ( note if a is moving father then x,y distance feed in deg/ min. )
    g1 z36. f# (depth of cut )
    g1 x-270 A3600 f500 ( this cut will make ten rev to - 270 @ 500 deg/min)
    g0 z 75
    g0 x0.0 a 0.0 ( back to start )

    m5 ( spindel off )
    m30 (end of program)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    21
    Hi
    thank you so much for your reply so sorry for all the questions but this is my first time doing G codes i did this manually on a lathe before but it too small thats my reason i have to mill it. and sorry im not used to inches but the lenght is 150mm okay no problem i can convert later but need to understand this process first if i use the above G Code an the depth is 6mm but i need to cut at 1mm a time how will the cut be repeated if the machine goes back to the start how will it cut deeper each time so on the second thread do i wre write the g code or how would i do this man so sorry

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    195
    ok my fault for not numbering it . you would copy from the" g1 z 50. f# ( move to above the part )" to the "g0 x0.0 a 0.0 ( back to start ) "
    and changed the line with the note of the depth of cut . you want to take a cut then return to the start for the next cut .

    so basically gave you the first cut the rest wit will gave to copy and paste the code . then change the depth to what you can cut at . you will learn faster this way .
    if need be post your code and I will check it . call Z zero center of the part , so the z in the program is the rad. hope this helps

    here is a second sample

    g21 g90
    m6 t1
    h1 ( tool offset if your using it )
    m3

    {copy}

    g1 z 50. f# ( move to above the part )
    g1 x0.0 y0.0 a0.0 f# ( note if a is moving father then x,y distance feed in deg/ min. )
    g1 z36. f# (depth of cut )
    g1 x-270 A3600 f500 ( this cut will make ten rev to - 270 @ 500 deg/min)
    g0 z 75
    g0 x0.0 a 0.0 ( back to start )

    {end copy}
    {pasted}
    g1 z 50. f# ( move to above the part )
    g1 x0.0 y0.0 a0.0 f# ( note if a is moving father then x,y distance feed in deg/ min. )
    g1 z35. f# (depth of cut ) {change this Z for cut depth}
    g1 x-270 A3600 f500 ( this cut will make ten rev to - 270 @ 500 deg/min)
    g0 z 75
    g0 x0.0 a 0.0 ( back to start )

    {end pasted}

    m5 ( spindel off )
    m30 (end of program)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    21
    Thankx a million really are a big help but lots of queries still please bare with me
    okay from what i understand here is the G code please correct me if im wrong

    first float
    g21 g90
    m10 t1
    h1 {do i have to use tool ofset please let me know whats this }
    m3
    g1 z50.0 f50
    g1 x0.0 y0.0 a0.0 f300{what do you mean if a is going further than xy and how would i change this to degree/min would i change f300
    g1 z-2.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a0.0
    g1 z-4.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a0.0
    g1 z-6.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180{am i correct here by -180 for the half turn to start the next float?}

    g1 z-2.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180
    g1 z-4.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180
    g1 z-6.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180
    m5
    m30

    i never did this g code before so please understand and once again thank you for your help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    195
    it is all good i know the feeling , I learned this the hard way . :cheers:

    first float " g90 is absolute zero"
    g21 g90
    m10 t1
    h1 {do i have to use tool ofset please let me know whats this } " h1 = height of tool #1"
    m3
    g1 z50.0 f50
    g1 x0.0 y0.0 a0.0 f300{what do you mean if a is going further than xy and how would i change this to degree/min would i change f300 } " if the linear distance is larger then the deg moved the feed will be ipm or mpm , but if your revolving is greater than your linear move the feed would be deg/min .
    g1 z-2.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a0.0
    g1 z-4.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a0.0
    g1 z-6.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180{am i correct here by -180 for the half turn to start the next float?} yes that is correct

    g1 z-2.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100 { A should be 3780.0 seeing it is absolute and the second end is 180 from the first }
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180
    g1 z-4.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180
    g1 z-6.0 f50
    g1 x-270 a3600 f100
    g0 z100
    g0 x0.0 a-180
    m5
    m30

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    21
    THANKX
    this thing is really confusing in the beginning i guess
    so i tried it on mach3 offline it seems to be good so far untill im free il try it out on thye machine with any material one more question sorry if i put the h1 tool height 1inch example will it then be g1 z50 plus one inch or how will it work whats the use of the offset soo sorry cant figure this out
    once again thank you very much its now 10.45pm night by me so tommorow will give it a try what is your time?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    195
    when you posted your last it was 3:49 pm my time .

    as for the one inch offset I am not sure I haven't run mach3 so i am not sure what the offset will be . as you said run in air to play it safe and run at 25% feed .
    good luck to you :cheers:

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    21
    thankx man for all ur help really appreciate it:banana:
    take care and enjoy your night will post to you as soon as im done no problem will try and figure out th h1.

Similar Threads

  1. How is a shaft attached to a shaft support rail ?
    By Power_user_EX in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-16-2012, 12:03 PM
  2. Worm gear and worm drive
    By LEWENZ in forum Employment Opportunity
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2008, 10:28 PM
  3. Looking for a Coupling for 1/2" motor shaft to KR33 6mm shaft
    By DonW in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-17-2008, 09:58 PM
  4. Which machine would be the best for this worm?
    By Palafox in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 04:46 PM
  5. New w32.novarg.@worm
    By wms in forum Computers / Desktops / Networking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-27-2004, 06:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •