585,670 active members*
4,308 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

InventorCam sucks.

InventorCam sucks. Here's why.

(Background: I'm using InventorCam 2012 with Autodesk Inventor 2013, at TechShop. I've used Aspire's Cut2D and VCarve, and Sprutcam in the past. I've used Inventor extensively, and SolidWorks a little. I'm a programmer who does some machining.)

The program

InventorCam is terribly brittle. It crashes. A lot. When it crashes, it takes Autodesk Inventor down with it. Inventor then "phones home" to Autodesk to report the crash, I fill oujt the crash form, and get a useless response back from Autodesk. Things which will crash it include
    • Trying to define stock with a 3D model without having deselected automatic definition of stock back in the preferences before starting. (Crashes every time, by bringing up a dialog box with one greyed out "Resume" button from which there is no escape.)
    • Switching back and forth from the Inventor model to the CAM environment (Crashes sometimes, and sometimes just loses the CAM environment.)

The documentation (at Documentation - InventorCAM CAM software) consists of endless tutorials and fuzzy videos of screenshots. There's no reference manual that I can find that lists all the things it can do and what all the menu options do. The "contextual help" just throws you to the beginning of a big HTML document.

It's not clear where it saves its CAM files, what they do, or when they get saved. It seems to be necessary to reset preferences for the program to indicate where the files for a project should go. But after doing that, not all the files seem to go there. Most of the time, even with what seem to be all the correct options set, CAM files are saved in some default place, not with the project. Nor does file save seem to be integrated with Inventor Pack and Go. If you're using different computers, as we have to do at TechShop, you lose the CAM files frequently.

This is just inept programming and design.