585,996 active members*
4,539 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Avid CNC > CRP4848 build log - Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

CRP4848 build log - Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Hello Everyone,:banana:

I’ve been following several build threads here for a long time and finally received all my parts for my new CNC Router so I thought I’d document the assembly on my own thread.

I’m not new to running CNC Routers; I am a machinist and cabinet maker by trait. I owned a 5’ x 10’ commercial CNC Router when I ran my own cabinet shop several years ago. Unfortunately I was diagnosed with Leukemia and had to close my business and sell my machine. The good news is I’m doing great and I got to keep all of my software so I already have Mach 3 and VCarve Pro loaded on a PC for running my new machine.

My machine is a CRP4848 4’ x 4’ CNC Router kit from CNCRouterParts. I choose the hardware only kit with their Nema 23 CNC electronics package. I wanted to purchase my own 8020 extrusions because I made a change to the original design by replacing the 1530 cross members with 1515 extrusion to get more height on my “Z” axis. I purchased all my 8020 extrusions, hardware, and gear rack off of e-bay. I also purchased a new Porter Cable 690 router for right now instead of a spindle because I got it on sale for 99.00.

I started several months ago by welding my own base to support the CNC router out of 3” angle on top with 2” square tubing for the legs with adjustable rubber feet and a center cross brace. I also put angle around the inside down lower to support a shelf. You can see from the picture what it looks like.

Attachment 219132

Today I heated the shop up and got the welded base for the machine placed and leveled. You can see in the picture the painted walls, the position of the base, and the vacuum system that needs to be hook up.

Attachment 219134