509,534 active members
5,078 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 4 of 4 234
Results 37 to 47 of 47
  1. #37
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    623
    Quote Originally Posted by tinygiants View Post
    so maybe I am off base. \
    Yes, you're off base. When using a 2 plate method, the first probe is to work zero, and then a second probe is done to find the difference between the work zero and the fixed plate. All the measurements are relative so it doesn't matter where they are so long as they're consistent during the job.
    -Andy B.
    http://www.birkonium.com CNC for Luthiers and Industry http://banduramaker.blogspot.com

  2. #38
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    26
    So the zero is not equal to the spoil board (if spoil board has been surfaced multiple times)? How is that a good starting point? I understand how zero off the top of work piece works. I even understand zero off the spoil board works.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #39
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    498
    Zero is usually the top or the bottom of the stock you're cutting.
    Also if you have homing switches zero is usually where the axis contact homing switches, and then you use an offset to where the zero is for the piece in question. Then you can have multiple fixtures on one machine

  4. #40
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1453
    The reason for two plates is so you only have to zero the first bit to the work piece with the movable plate. Once that is done, the bit is touched off on the fixed plate and the difference is stored. It has nothing to do with the spoil board height at all.

    The next time a tool change is called for in the G-Code, the bit is changed and you press Cycle Start then the bit is touched off the fixed plate and now the new bit length is known.

    The entire concept of the dual plates is so you do not have to touch each bit off on the work piece which is very handy especially if your original surface has been machined away.

    The fixed plate can change heights if needed during spoil board surfacing or whatever, it just can't change after you start a job and reference the first bit.

    I hope I explained it well.

    Richard

  5. #41
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by rwskinner View Post
    The reason for two plates is so you only have to zero the first bit to the work piece with the movable plate. Once that is done, the bit is touched off on the fixed plate and the difference is stored. It has nothing to do with the spoil board height at all.

    The next time a tool change is called for in the G-Code, the bit is changed and you press Cycle Start then the bit is touched off the fixed plate and now the new bit length is known.

    The entire concept of the dual plates is so you do not have to touch each bit off on the work piece which is very handy especially if your original surface has been machined away.

    The fixed plate can change heights if needed during spoil board surfacing or whatever, it just can't change after you start a job and reference the first bit.

    I hope I explained it well.

    Richard
    That helps alot. Thank You. I was stuck on the fact that the spoil board would change.

  6. #42
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    575
    oh cool, I too learned something new.

  7. #43
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    53
    Thanks everyone for that quick little discussion. Sometimes even the simplest stuff can be confusing.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #44
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    53
    During the last few days I've managed to get my control box panels designed and cut, assembled, and back in working order. Also did some much needed wire management.
    Attachment 225042Attachment 225044Attachment 225046Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1393004237.538791.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	273.8 KB 
ID:	225048


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #45
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    221
    Hello SSW....I assume you got the proximity sensors from CNC R P. I was curious about your opinion of these...
    About how far away do they begin to sense? and how consistent do you feel these work? I use microswitches with a little lever arm... seems to work well... but I was wondering if the proximity sensors would be more accurate and repeatable.

    THanks
    Awesome machine by the way...

  10. #46
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    53
    Yes sensors are CRP. It appears to sense about 8mm. Very consistent. One feature alone that makes these nice is the ease in which they can be adjusted. The threads are quite fine so they can be micro-adjusted. When using these on a master/slave setup, squaring the gantry involves very little trial and error. I simply measure the gap, screw the sensor in or out the distance I want to move the gantry, re-home. Done.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #47
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1453
    I agree that my CRP Homing/Limits sensors work very well also.

    Richard

Page 4 of 4 234

Similar Threads

  1. American-made, AGNI laser controller made by Solustan Inc.
    By Rolf_K in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-08-2016, 09:32 PM
  2. USA made or Chinese made Laser, that is the question.
    By M_D in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-22-2014, 06:12 PM
  3. Need some parts made in aluminum, have made wooden prototype.
    By Speedy55 in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-2012, 03:51 PM
  4. michigan
    By 50cal. in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-10-2008, 02:14 PM
  5. New guy from Michigan
    By kirkln in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 08:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •