508,236 active members
1,718 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Vectric > Aspire > I need some suggestions on workflow.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    575

    I need some suggestions on workflow.

    I am designing a linear piece which needs to have a specific machining done at each end.
    The pattern is described with several vectors and path and it used 5-6 operations to be cut.

    The center part is custom and changes from project to project.
    What is the best way to implement a workflow so that I do not have to redraw the vectors and recreate the tool paths for every part ?

    Here is a visual, thank you !!


  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34573
    Create the vectors and toolpaths for the parts that stay the same, and save that and use it as a template.
    Or, just save the vectors and learn how to setup and use Toolpath Templates, which can fully automate the creation of toolpaths.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    575
    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Create the vectors and toolpaths for the parts that stay the same, and save that and use it as a template.
    Or, just save the vectors and learn how to setup and use Toolpath Templates, which can fully automate the creation of toolpaths.
    Hi, I looked into toolpath templates, but it seems that your first suggestion would work also.
    Maybe it is a combination. I was hoping that I could create one of the side pieces with their respective toolpaths and save it somewhere, and then load it into any working document. I am thinking of autocad blocks if you will.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34573
    Think of it more like an AutoCAD template drawing. You start with the template and add to it. You're thinking the other way around.
    Your way will work, though, if you save the vectors, and import them into your drawing, then use toolpath templates on them.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    575
    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Think of it more like an AutoCAD template drawing. You start with the template and add to it. You're thinking the other way around.
    Your way will work, though, if you save the vectors, and import them into your drawing, then use toolpath templates on them.
    I also though of that. As side note, i like aspire, but it ks true that it is the of most basic of their offerings ?

  6. #6
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34573
    Quote Originally Posted by Profoxcg View Post
    ..................As side note, i like aspire, but it ks true that it is the of most basic of their offerings ?
    I don't understand what you mean?? Aspire is Vectric's top package.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    575
    oh okay, so then i read wrong. i though cut 3d was.
    i am surprised there isnt a way to nest sub operations.

    do you use aspire for your stuff ?

Similar Threads

  1. CNC Workflow Example
    By msimpson99 in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-28-2014, 05:32 AM
  2. Edgecam Workflow
    By meegers in forum EdgeCam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 12:40 PM
  3. Looking for easy workflow 2.5D CAD
    By adx in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-21-2012, 05:08 PM
  4. Sketchup 7 Pro to CNC workflow
    By ktz in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 10:12 PM
  5. Workflow w/chinese machine & DSP
    By jensenium in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 10:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •