585,702 active members*
4,389 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > ViaCad / Shark > Version 9 Pro OS COmpatibility

Version 9 Pro OS COmpatibility

I was thinking of trying upgrading to 9 Pro, but I am a hard corps XP Pro users. On another group I read one nuser complained that they were having problems installing V9 Pro on their XP box, but that it installed on their Win 7 64 bit box just fine. They also claimed it said V9 would run under XP ont he VC website. Has anybody successfully installed V9 Pro on a Windows XP or XP Pro box?

All my computers except for 2 Linux boxes are running XP Pro. I didn't see anything I liked in 7 to make me want to upgrade, and some of the PC Gurus are saying Windows 8 is the worst Windows release ever. One even went out of his way to say, "Even worse than Vista." Hence why there is an Windows 8.1 already out to bug fix, and they announced the work on Windows 9 early to keep people interested in Windows.

Anyway, who has V9 Pro installed on an XP Box and working? Anybody?

I sure miss DeskView...
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

.............and some of the PC Gurus are saying Windows 8 is the worst Windows release ever.
    I've read some that say it's the best Windows ever. Or it would be if they got rid of the touch interface, which I've read that 9 may do.
    I still use XP as well (until I get a new PC in a few months), but Windows 7 is MUCH better, especially with more modern programs. If you have PC's that are maybe 2 years old or newer, I'd switch to Windows 7 Pro x64. You can get it for $140 at Newegg.

Sorry, but don't have any info on your ViaCAD question.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html