585,778 active members*
4,336 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Designing/Building my own CNC Router, need expert advice.

Designing/Building my own CNC Router, need expert advice.

Just joined CNC Zone, I find this site to be the best resource for gaining correct advice. And I need some of that advice now that I'm designing and building my own CNC Router. I've attached a picture of my CAD model, This design is not set in stone, and open for technical criticism and advice, I've only spent 2 hours modelling this rough design. I studied mechanical engineering, and work for a manufacturing company in Canada. I am going to have my company manufacture most of the parts for me. There are a few areas that I am having difficulty with and I will outline those as well as what capabilities I want my CNC Router to perform.

My Background
    - Very experienced Wood Worker (Cabinet/Furniture)
    - I do know how to operate a Metal lathe/mill
    - Mechanical Engineer
    - Zero welding experience

Parts I have Chosen
    - NEMA 23 Stepper Motors (If I need to use NEMA 32 to machine Aluminum and Steel I will)
    - 12mm Linear Guide Rails, with Pillow Bearings, for all AXIS
    - 1/2'' Ball Screws for all AXIS

Machine Objectives
    - I want to be able to cut Wood, Acrylic,MDF, Etch Glass, Aluminum, and thin Steel.
    - Building Cost $1500-$1800
    - Build Envelope, 24''x20''x4''

Areas of Difficulty
    - I am finding it hard to find the right Spindle Motor that is capable of having a high rpm for wood/MDF , and lower RPM's for Aluminum and thin Steel recommendations would be appreciated. ($200-$350, might go higher if the benefits are worth it)