585,758 active members*
4,216 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Cutting a flat surface

In 6061 and 7075, 8" wide by 5" deep. Using the Superfly cutter in passes 2" apart in Y.

My machine's tram in X is nearly perfect and also in Y, but parallelism of the table surface in Y to Y movement is off about .0005" per two inches. So I get little ridges at the overlap.

I've tried shimming the vise a wee bit to bring the work parallel to movement, but that goes against the tram a wee bit so I still end up with a tiny step.

Any ideas on how to accomplish this? I was thinking of grinding that surface on abrasive against a surface plate. I'm fairly new to trying to accomplish more precision than this, so thoughts from the experienced would be greatly appreciated.

Use a smaller diameter fly-cutter or a 1/2" end-mill.

Phil

On my machine I have the same problem, I tightened the gib on the Z axis and it helped some. Mine is off a tad still, I use a large face mill so that I can face the entire part in one pass, it doesnt correct the error but it does cause it not to show in the final finish.
    mike sr

Did you make this fly cutter? Five inches seems quite wide for this machine.

Make sure your spindle is parallel with your z axis. Depending on your machine, it is possible to be in perfect tram but still not have z and spindle in line.

How would you test for that? Given mine has the Y travel issue, I can't run an indicator down a surface perpendicular to the table.

I have tried using a laser, but that's only so accurate. Starting at the very top and carefully adjusting the laser aim, I find I can run the head all the way down and the dot doesn't move so far as I can measure.

Try clamping a straight test rod in the spindle and indicate off this as you z up and down.

Ah, thanks. That I can do. Not that I have a very long known straight rod, but 4" should be enough.