585,729 active members*
4,862 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
    9fingers Guest

Piranha CM1325-3

Hi,
    A mate of mine has a Piranha CM1325-3 8' x 4' 3 axis router which has some electrical problems.
    I'm an electronic engineer and willing to have a look but I could do with some documentation on the electrical aspects of the machine.
    Can you help at all or suggest where I might be able to download circuits etc.

I've yet to see the machine but the guy tells me it does not have a PC obviously associated with it. It does have a hand held unit with a USB stick containing a g code file. So it this hand held unit a G code interpreter with low level X Y Z direction signals sent to the stepper drivers?
    Some idea of the machine architecture would be helpful to read up on before I visit site.

It has both 3 phase 440v and single phase 240 volt power connections. I assume the 3 phase is just for the inverter to drive the spindle and the single phase runs the controller and steppers?

Thanks In Advance

Bob

The Piranha is sold by Radecal in the UK if you get stuck. The 3 Phase will be for the Spindle VFD and the Single Phase will be for the controller and associated motors etc.
    The DSP controller could be one of several, so a model number off the label would be good to get from your mate. The G-Code is generated on the workstation, the files are copied to a USB Thumb drive and placed into the USB Port on the DSP. After selecting the appropriate file and possibly setting a couple of parameters from the menu the job runs right from the DSP.

What is the fault description?
    When it all goes wrong, own up and tell the boss it was someone else!

9fingers Guest
    Thanks for your helpful reply Prickly.
    So is the dsp likely to be in the hand unit? (that is where the thumb drive plugs in). I'm told there is also a PCB in with the stepper drivers which my mate describes as a breakout board so this could be an alternate location for the DSP.