585,760 active members*
3,844 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Novakon > Optimizing speeds and feeds

Optimizing speeds and feeds

I was reading a post on CNC Cookbook about chip thinning and speeds and feeds and now that I have most of my toolpaths worked out I want to optimize my speeds and feeds. Link is here:

CNC Feeds and Speeds Cookbook and Tutorial

Being a beginner I always thought going slower meant longer toollife and better finish. This article really showed me what a beginner mistake that is. So now I want to make my cuts a lot more aggressive, lower my cut time, improve my finish and save my tools! I am buying the calculator when I get home from work tonight but still a little hesitant about being so aggressive and have some questions.

First: I hear about tool pullout and with the PDB do I have to worry about this and how do I avoid it.

Second: When calculating the cut, is it better to go slow and deep, shallow and fast, etc. Do you optimize on MRR or deflection or ? I have some deep cuts (2.25 inches) so I have to use a long tool so I know I have to go pretty shallow on those. I do almost all slotting.

I am using Lakeshore Carbide 3fl endmills (lakeshore). I did order some HSS ones and then plugged them into the calculator and on long cutters it REALLY reduced my MRR. So I am back to the carbide for those. I may use the HSS ones for short stickout cuts when my carbide ones die, but for now all my endmills are carbide.

I know some of this is going to be "Try this and keep turning it up until you are using almost full power on the spindle", but the article made me wonder if that is what I should be doing. I could be running at full power but have massive deflection. Any help would be appreciated.

-Keith

Re: Optimizing speeds and feeds

Keith,

Since you are using my PDB, I will guarantee you will NEVER experience pull-out, so don't waste time worrying about that.