585,978 active members*
4,586 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > CNC Wire Foam Cutter Machines > Build a cheap, SIMPLE, CnC foam cutter.
Page 1 of 3 123

Build a cheap, SIMPLE, CnC foam cutter.

I've just started building my CNC foam cutter.

Step-by-step progress is being recorded at http://www.homecnc.org/index.php/Cheap_Foam_Cutter

My objective here is to build a fairly cheap machine that's buildable with the tools I have (meaning, no drill press, no lathe )

Hopefully, the page above will be useable as a step-by-step guide for easily building a cutter.

My background is in software, so this real world stuff is a bit of novelty at the moment

I have all the electronics, and have cut the wood so the next step is to start assembly....

My cost to date is around $USD330, most of which is the stepper controller board.

Many pictures at the wiki page above.

Lot more progress today.

Fully finished building one frame (didn't have enough Al tubing to do the other one end).

Now just need to add the motors and it will be working! yay!

Lot more progress today.

dup

Argh!

My M8 threaded rod is galvanised (or corroded). Which makes it too thick for my M8 nuts.

I started re-threaded it with a hand die, but it's hard going (it's removing quite a bit of metal) and the thought of re-threading 2000mm of rod isn't much fun.

Anyone know of a good supplier of metalwork materials in Sydney, Australia? That's open on a saturday morning...?

Try stainless rod (304). Cost a little more, but there is no galvanising, nor will there be corrosion.

Carel

Sounds like a good idea. I've found a metal supplier that's open on a saturday, so here's hoping they've got M8 threaded rod.

I'm currently using 12mm Al tubing for the rails. I think I might replace that with 12mm stainless steel if I can. (Assuming that the metal suppler will cut it for me. No way am I going to try cutting stainless steel by hand