585,930 active members*
3,300 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Milltronics > Considering new machine purchase

Considering new machine purchase

I have been using a cnc retrofitted bport clone with ball screws the past few years and have finaly reached the point where I am running my machine about 10-12 hours per day and think its time to add a second machine.

Most of the parts I machine are alum and relativly small and my shop is small as well as my budget so I am looking at entry level machines. The local (about 6 hours away) salesmen is pushing the Milltronics RW15. The price is about right and the table size and travel are ample to jig 4-6 parts at a time. Is this a decent entry level machine, is there another machine in the same price range that would be slightly better, faster more riged or more relaible etc for the same money spent? Total newb in the new machine buying arena so any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

We just bought a small vmc a couple of months ago.
    We looked at the milltronics, haas, sharp, fadal.
    Look over which options are included and which ones are extra very carefully. Will you want to add a fourth axis in the future? We found that they all come out to be pretty close in price after you add up the options. Some of it is just silly to be optional (IMHO), some of it you may not need. In the end we purchaced a sharp sv2412. It has boxed ways which I feel will give a bit more rigidity. I also prefered the fanuc controls, motors etc. which are readily available if repairs are required. I am happy with the quality of the machine so far, nothing on it seems junky or poorly made. It is early days yet though, we will see how it holds together over time.
    Don't forget to consider the a/c power. We had to use a phase converter since the machine uses 3 phase power.

I bought a sharp 2412 about a year ago I am very happy with it .Price was right too.
    Tim