502,534 active members
5,203 visitors online
Register for free
Login

View Poll Results: Do you use a single or variable speed router?

Voters
34. You may not vote on this poll
  • I use a single speed router on a machine under approx 36" x 36"

    2 5.88%
  • I use a single speed router on a machine over approx 36" x 36"

    0 0%
  • I use a variable speed router on a machine under approx 36" x 36"

    15 44.12%
  • I use a variable speed router on a machine over approx 36" x 36"

    12 35.29%
  • I have successfully used a single speed router for routing aluminium

    0 0%
  • I have successfully used a variable speed router for routing aluminium

    10 29.41%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 15
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1257

    Variable or Single Speed Router?

    I would like to know how many people are using a single or variable speed router on their machines as I don't know if the suggested Porter Cable Single Speed Laminate Trim Router will be ok for my 37" x 25" wood router (Also built out of wood). I would also like to route some alumunium if possible.....

    (Multiple choice poll, you can click more than one point - Please dont click two that contradict)

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33846
    For one thing, your bits will last a lot longer with variable speed. Speed creates heat. Heat dulls bits. Variable speed is also important when using larger bits, which should be run slower.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1257
    Does anyone know of a Laminate Trim Router (I dont think full size will fit on the solsylva machine) that has variable speed?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    946
    Always use a variable speed one. Their not that much more expensive and the are well worth the money

  5. #5
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33846
    The only one I know of may be hard for you to get. http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS...4+3966&pos=n24

    You might also want to check out the Bosch Colt.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3443

    Cool I suppose someone has to be different!

    I suppose someone has to be different!
    When I designed my CNC router, I choose to use a
    Makita 30,000 RPM Die Grinder with a 1/4" & 3/16" collets!
    They are plugged into a vari-speed control for brush type
    motors, the speed control was purchaces from Granger!

    Does that disqualify me? (chair)

    Eric
    www.widgitmaster.com
    It's not what you take away, it's what you are left with that counts!

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    866
    No reason to limit yourself to single speed when you can buy that 2.5HP Hitachi router from Lowes for 114 dollars, which works very nicely.

  8. #8
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33846
    Quote Originally Posted by phantomcow2
    No reason to limit yourself to single speed when you can buy that 2.5HP Hitachi router from Lowes for 114 dollars, which works very nicely.
    Unless you live in Ireland, maybe.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    21
    I've found it immpossible to find an american style cylinderical router for my machine over here in Australia so I'm considering buying a GMF1400 router from the UK since the UK and Auatralia both have the same 240V power supply.

    Maybe this would be something you could consider over in Ireland. However it may be slightly too large and pricey for your machine.

    check out this link
    websitehttp://www.bosch-pt.com/uk/en/gw/newdeals/media/P15-16.pdf

    It has an electronic power booster for heavy loads. (I'm not really sure what this means)

    Does it mean that it is variable speed as and when it requires it, i.e if it senses that its struggling to maintain a speed it applies more power?

    If any one can answer this I would much appreciate it.

    -Nikki

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1257
    RASPNC
    Thanks. Im not sure if that Bosch would fit but looks like a nice router. I imagine that its just like you say. Underneath where it says that on your link, it also says it is variable speed, so I imagine you can set the speed yourself, and if the rpm drops below or rises above the set rpm it will increase/decrease power automatically to adjust and try to keep the rpm constant at whatever setting. The quote below is about the Ridgid Laminate Trimmer suggested above your post but I imagine its the same thing:

    "An electronic speed control module senses the load applied to the motor, and increases or decreases motor voltage to compensate for and maintain desired RPM."

    Also, re. buying equipment from the USA visit the link below and subscribe to it. It hasn't been added to in a while, but when I finally get around to ordering eqpt from the USA and testing it, I'll be posting my results so you can see if they work ok or not. Incidentally, if your mains in Australia operates on 60Hz frequency you are fine ordering from the USA, simply use a step down transformer for the voltage and you wont have any problems. If your mains is 50Hz you are fine ordering from the UK.
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19877

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1257
    ger21,
    Thanks for that link. After a quick google I see that I can get the same laminate trimmer sent to me from amazon.com (Its also $20 cheaper!). The variable speed is only adjustable between 20000 to 30000 rpm. That doesnt seem like a huge difference, but better than nothing I suppose. Now all I have to do is figure out my mains frequency problems and I'll be set. Thanks. L8rs.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...lance&n=228013

  12. #12
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33846
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Page 1 of 2 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •