489,625 active members
4,912 visitors online
Register for free
Login
489,625 active members
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    37

    G100 + Mach3 2010 screen auto tool zero

    Does anyone use Geckodrive G-Rex G100 with Mach 3 (2010 screenset or regular) and have a WORKING auto tool zero macro?

    My touch plate probe is set up on pin 15.

    Here's the 889 macro...
    Message( "Auto Zeroing..." )
    If IsSuchSignal (22) Then
    code "G31 Z-3 F20" // Moves probe down 3 inches
    While IsMoving()
    Wend
    Call SetDRO( 2, 0.625 ) // sets z to zero assuming plate thickness is 0.625"
    code "G1 Z1.0" // Retracts Z 1 inch.
    End If


    Problem is.... this macro works perfectly only ONCE. Second time it retracts way more than 1 inch and eventually hits the limit switch on the Z axis.

    Any ideas what could be wrong? Or should we conclude that Grex G100 auto tool zero macro will never work with mach3?

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    32480

    Re: G100 + Mach3 2010 screen auto tool zero

    It looks like you modified my M889 macro? By chance are you in G91 mode when it crashes. The default M889 macro has code to prevent it from crashing into the switch, provided you home the Z axis first. Not sure how much of the original macro you're using, if any?

    It's also possible that the G100 doesn't support G31 properly. If that's the case, you may not be able to get any macro to work.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: G100 + Mach3 2010 screen auto tool zero

    Hi Gerry,

    My "distance mode" is set to Absolute (G90) and my IJ mode is set to INC (G91.1).

    I am trying out a macro from cncrouterparts. I tried using your macro that came with the screenset and it resulted in same problems. Basically any macro I try has same problem. First touch down is fine. Second touch down immediately after results in Z axis moving up way too much.

    Any ideas what I can do? Mach 3 version is 3.043.066

    Is it possible that this is an issue that has never been solved with mach3 and grex?

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    32480

    Re: G100 + Mach3 2010 screen auto tool zero

    Grex support in Mach3 was never finished and Mach3 support for it was abandoned many years ago.
    Keep in mind that motion controller plugins can be sensitive to different versions of mach3.
    The only thing you can try would be an old version of Mach3, from when the Grex plugin was written. I doubt it will work, though.
    Your only other option would be a different motion controller.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: G100 + Mach3 2010 screen auto tool zero

    Gerry, that's what I'm thinking.... although i'm happy with GREX G100 and it's awesome, i do notice that it is a pain to run with Mach3 and some things don't work. I'm not able to do auto-tool zero and reffing all axes at the same doesn't work. I have to ref X, Y, Z individually.

    What other controllers are good out there with a lot of support?

    I'd like to use an ethernet port so i guess Ethernet SmoothStepper is my only choice, right?

Similar Threads

  1. Mach3 2010 Screen set
    By ger21 in forum Screen Layouts, Post Processors & Misc
    Replies: 1413
    Last Post: 09-25-2018, 12:36 AM
  2. Mach3 ATC & Auto Tool Zero
    By KNA in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-03-2015, 10:16 PM
  3. Mach3 and Auto Tool Zero / Mach Blue Probing by Big-Tex
    By TomiY in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-15-2012, 09:24 PM
  4. touch screen for g100
    By jeepsterryan in forum G-REX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2008, 06:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •