585,748 active members*
3,673 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2) > Need help, Linuxcnc Interface, Drivers, Encoders

Need help, Linuxcnc Interface, Drivers, Encoders

Hello everbody,

Im a noob to CNC, so i will try to post the problem as clearly has I can. I have a couple of questions regarding Linuxcnc, electronics interface, and stepper motors so i don't know where to post this, anyway here it goes. The first question might not be related to Linuxcnc but eventually it comes to that, so sorry for the inconvenience.

1. I have designed a fixed gantry machine with a moveable Y axis along the Z axis, and of course I have two stepper motor in each corner of the gantry and two ballscrews to provide lift. When i was talking to some of the suppliers for machine, they said that two motors could because a problem eventualy with time. If one motor breaksdown the gantry could fall apart, twist, bend, or whatever happens when something like this happens. So my question is how often do people use two steppers for the moveable Y axis, or any axis, and how catastrophic would be if one of the steppers fails completly. It seems that people use two motors on the same axis frequently, although i don't know if they are prepared for this kind of failure of one the steppers. Is there special circuitry to prevent one of the motors from moving if the other fails? can Linuxcnc detect this? or i am worried with something that just doens't happen?. Does anyone has experience when one of the steppers completly breaksdown?